Slow Going

jan05small

This is the state of my “Frost Flowers Stole”. After two days, I’m on row 5. I had to modify the pattern so that I’m joining in the round after row 5 instead of row 4 because my needles have a funky join on one side that made my yarn not slide along well in one direction (which would have been the only direction I was knitting if I joined at row 4).

Speaking of needles, I have to give serious thanks to my Dear Husband for making a trip to the Special Yarn Store for me this weekend to get these! They are super-awesome. I was unsure at first, because they’re square instead of round (which is really weird to get used to), but I really like them. The cables are so nice and un-kinked. The funky join on the one side is probably only noticeable because I’m working with a laceweight yarn; it’s probably more to their credit that the other direction is so smooth. I’ve decided to buy all my needles from the Special Yarn Store from now on. Every set of needles I’ve gotten there has been worth the extra distance and price!

I also have special thanks for the departing co-worker who left me a set of beautiful shiny purple size 17 needles today. (But I am not at all thankful for the ball of blue acrylic yarn she also left me.)

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Slow Going”

  1. janellaknits Says:

    I really want to try the square needles. I hated the first couple of rows of this stole. It just didn’t feel right. I’m glad it’s over, and I’m working on the lace pattern.

    It would be awful to knit this stole with a funky join.

Leave a comment