NaWoSpiMo

April is the month for Camp NaNoWriMo, the event where many people worldwide attempt to write a 50,000 word novel in a single month. I was tempted to do NaNoWriMo this month, but decided that my other hobbies needed more attention. I do like the idea of a goal and time pressure, though, so I decided to declare this National Wool Spinning Month, and to attempt to spin a pound of fiber in 30 days. That is 453.6 grams, or 15.12 grams per day. On a good day, I can spin maybe 7 grams in an hour. That makes my goal, like writing a novel, obtainable with considerable effort. I decided that the pound of yarn I would spin are my 400 grams of purple Tops woolyknit wool and my roughly 56 grams of Bullen’s Wullens green wool/silk blend.

I am already behind. I missed the first day, not devising this plan until the second. Then I’ve been both busy and under the weather this week. I’ve done some good spinning today, though. I should be at 75 grams tonight, but I’m around 35 grams, mostly in the last two days. I am enjoying spinning so far! I think both yarns are really beautiful! It has made me think a lot about investing in a spinning wheel, though. Pictured below is my current state, with the green in unfinished, single, and plied states, and the purple just starting to be spun/plied. For the purple, I’m doing the ply-as-you-go chain ply technique, which I kind of like a lot, even if it is slightly less efficient.

image

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

